### ANNEXURE- I (CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES)

### 1. DEPARTMENTAL RESEARCH COMMITTEE (DRC)

- 1. Head of the Department, Chairman (if Head of the Department is Professor. In case the HOD is not a Professor, a Professor from another department may be appointed as Chairman, DRC with the approval of Chairman, Senate for a period of three years. He may be replaced by other Professor after the expiry of his tenure. If during this period, a Professor joins the Department, the Professor from another department, who has been appointed as Chairman, DRC shall automatically be relieved from the additional responsibility, and the Professor of the Department will become the Chairman, DRC).
- 2. All Professors
- 3. Two faculty members of the Department (must be doctorate) other than the Professors
- 4. Supervisor(s) of research scholars.

HOD concerned will arrange all the meetings and departmental correspondence in this regard.

(In case of interdisciplinary subject, faculty from each department shall be involved. Presence of external examiner(s) and Chairman CRC is mandatory during synopsis presentation)

# 2. RESEARCH ADVISORY COMMITTEE (RAC)\*

- 1. Supervisor or a Professor of the Department if the supervisor is not a Professor
- 2. Supervisor (s)
- 3. Two faculty working in allied area

## 3. CENTRAL RESEARCH COMMITTEE (CRC)

- 1. Dean (R&C) as Chairman
- 2. Chairpersons of all the DRCs
- 3. Dean(Academics)

#### 4. THESIS EVALUATION BOARD

- 1. External Expert from reputed institutions of India.
  - 2. External Expert from reputed institutions outside the Country
  - 3. Supervisor (s)

1

11.

#### 5. VIVA-VOCE BOARD (same as Clause - 8.2)

- 1. Chairman DRC/HOD as Chairman
- 2. External Examiner: The thesis examiner from India
- 3. Internal Examiner(s): Supervisor and Co-supervisor(s) (if any)
- 4. One professor/Assoc. Professor from the Department
- 5. Nominee of Chairman, Senate

Provisional subject to ratification in the 22nd meeting of Senate. These rules & regulations are based on recommendation of the committee dated 07.12.2017 and 20.07.2018, and shall be applicable for admission to Ph. D degree in the Institute from academic session 2018-19.